you're reading...
Editing

New Year, New Projects


It‘s that time of year where people make resolutions and we try to make some changes in our lives.  I don’t really make resolutions as such.  Instead I have made some decisions about my writing habits and how I want to adapt them to suit my new goals. I decided my writing goals a few month ago and have been slowly working towards them.

My first goal was to get writing again.  After a fairly big change in lifestyle courtesy of my new baby, I had pretty much stopped writing.  So my first goal was to open up my journal and get something, anything, down on paper.  This would lead into my second goal, writing regularly.

I had the goal to write regularly by the end of December.  This would involve finding ways to write after small child had gone to bed or while he napped.  This has proved tricky but I am writing in my journal at least twice a week.  Usually every other day and sometimes even everyday!

Finally this all dovetails into the Goal of 2012.  Get a piece of my work ready for submission by the end of the year.  Whether that is to edit, rewrite or trash it all and start something new.  So far, I’m thinking of rewrite and edit.  I have a couple of things in mind and I’m looking forward to it.

This year, I will be brave and send out my work.  I know, it’s a resolution by itself but its also part of a process and that is why I think it will work!

About Leonie Lucas

Im a writer, just getting through the days one page at a time.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “New Year, New Projects

  1. Good luck and I’m sure through determination you’ll succeed.

    Posted by P. L. Wood | 01/01/2012, 9:25 pm

Leave a Reply

