you're reading...
Musings, Writing

I do believe in fairies!


Fairy

Fairy (Photo credit: Alejandra Mavroski)

Fairies and Magic.  However, my take on these things isn’t necessarily the traditional image.  In my writing, magic is nearly always present along with a healthy sense of romance.  So, why am I obsessed with magic.

Magic is that sense of awe and surprise that we have as children.  It’s the sparkle of Christmas morning and finding things have appeared.  It’s that feeling when you see something extraordinary and can’t quite believe it must have come naturally.  I think that as we grow up our idea of magic changes until eventually we let ‘real life’ erode it completely.

I think people fall in the with fantasy creatures because they take us back to those half-forgotten days when at the end of the day Good won no matter what the odds.  The magic was good and it was fun but it was also safe.

In my writing, I tend to present magic is an everyday thing.  This doesn’t make it any less amazing but instead, I think, brings the everyday up to the level of amazing. It’s also a matter of balance.  Yes, my character can magic up the perfect cup of coffee BUT will the effort of doing so outweigh the benefits?  My version of magic tends to be practical but fun.  I like to play with the idea of magic as an extra sense rather than a miraculous one.  This doesn’t detract from the wonder but instead makes the amazing things more personal.  I love it when my characters react in a surprising, yet totally understandable way but with magic.

Magic will always have a special place in my heart, and I hope the hearts of others, as it will always find a way to surprise me.

So, do you believe in fairies?  If you have a magical ability what would it be? My magical power would be to freeze time for a while so I could everything I want done in a day.  How about you?

About Leonie Lucas

Im a writer, just getting through the days one page at a time.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “I do believe in fairies!

  1. Oh, I like your chosen magical power. More time in the day would be great. But I would also like the power to teleport myself. Would no longer waste all that time getting from point A to point B 🙂

    Posted by crubin | 02/02/2012, 12:40 am

Leave a Reply

