you're reading...
Writing

Creating chaos


I’ve discovered a new love – crochet. It gives my brain space to think while my fingers stay busy. I can also drop it fairly instantly if small boy decides that moment is perfect for mischief. Now my living room is covered in yarn and bits of crochet along with paper and pen.
A hobby is a great thing I think, both for you as a person and for your characters. Your hero may be able to defeat the bad guys with his little finger but did you know he also collects beer mats from all over the world? Your heroine might be a high powered executive but did you know she knits doilies for the local Old People’s home? I’ve also discovered the possibility for interesting plot twists. One of my favourite romance novels is set during the late Victorian era and the women use knitting patterns to pass on information to downtrodden women without the men knowing. Hobbies can provide some interesting dimensions to your characters, however, I think I will avoid bass-jumping as a hobby just in case I ever need to research it in too much depth.

What hobbies do you have? How would your characters deal with hobbies?

Incidentally, this post was written with a cat on my wrist and a baby tugging at my ankles. Apologies for any spelling mistakes!

About Leonie Lucas

Im a writer, just getting through the days one page at a time.

Discussion

One thought on “Creating chaos

  1. I have been crocheting since I was 12, so gosh…..30 years now. When I married my husband a little over 2 years ago, he had no idea what a mess I could make with my crochet. It’s quite comical but he’s come around to my way of thinking (at least with crochet). When I’m in my element, there are needles, scissors and loads of yarn everywhere. It’s fun (at least to me). Good luck and have fun crocheting!

    Posted by kathylashley | 12/04/2012, 5:16 pm

Leave a Reply

