you're reading...
Writing

The Dreaded Bio


It’s silly really.  I love to write.  I think I’m even pretty good at it (and some people agree with me!).  I can write on a variety of topics.  In fact give me a topic and five minutes and usually something will pop out of my head in response.

However, ask me to write about ME and I go blank.  I gaze at the screen in a sort of dazed horror while I wonder what on Earth I should say.  Do I list my daily life? Do I gloss over the chaos and focus on that which will make one seem erudite and interesting.  If so, what will make one look erudite and interesting?  Should it be serious or have a little humour.  Will people think my humour is funny? Will people like me? Will the page delete itself in embarrassment? And so on until I am left a gibbering wreck in the corner who decides to go play games instead.

I was pondering (ok, avoiding) the About Me section on this blog and I came across (see I was researching, not procrastinating – maybe) this post by Elizabeth Barrow.  Hurrah! I thought.  I’m not alone!  Someone else has been searching for help.  So, with a little help from Elizabeth.  Here is my new ‘About Me

About Leonie Lucas

Im a writer, just getting through the days one page at a time.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “The Dreaded Bio

  1. Nice ‘about me’…I hate writing the bio too. It’s like trying to be yourself by ‘not being yourself.’ There, I got myself in a muddle.

    Posted by Subhakar Das | 03/01/2012, 6:03 pm
    • I know what you mean 🙂 You have to step outside of yourself and figure out what other people find interesting about you. I think that sometimes that feels like arrogance so we dont do it normally. This means that when we do have to do it that we shy away from it for fear of seeming arrogant. Hope that made sense 🙂

      Posted by Leonie Lucas | 03/01/2012, 8:51 pm
  2. Love your new “About Me,” Leonie! And thanks for the shout-out! 🙂

    Posted by Liz | 04/01/2012, 1:33 am

Leave a Reply

